The Common Assessment Standard (CAS) was introduced by Build UK and the Civil Engineering Contractors Association (CECA) in 2019 to standardise and streamline the pre-qualification process which reduces cost, saves time and improves efficiency.

CAS is an industry-agreed question set designed to help manage risk across a wide range of criteria. It’s a comprehensive standard that builds on the PAS 91 pre-qualification questionnaire and has fast become the industry gold standard for pre-qualification.

The government through its procurement office recently released Procurement Policy Note (PPN) 03/23 which mandates that on all public sector contracts (funded by the public purse) PAS 91 or CAS is to be used as the pre-qualification route.

It’s worth noting that the rules to requiring PAS 91 or CAS only apply if the thresholds on the Public Contract Regulations (2015) are exceeded. See section 14 of the PPN 03.23.

What does the Common Assessment Standard cover?

To make it easier to complete, CAS is made up of ten key sections, take a look below to see how these are broken down.

Section 1: Identity

Section 2: Financial

Section 3: Corporate and Professional Standing

Section 4: Health & Safety

Section 5: Environmental

Section 6: Quality

Section 7: Equality

Section 8: Corporate Social Responsibility

Section 9: Information Security

GDPR Section 10: Information Management (IM)

Who’s using the Common Assessment Standard?

CAS is used in government frameworks and a growing list of organisations are now requesting the standard including:

  • ASUC
  • Balfour Beatty
  • BESA
  • Bouygues UK
  • Canary Wharf Contractors
  • Clancy Group
  • Costain
  • Derwent London
  • HAE
  • HS2
  • IPAF
  • ISG
  • Keltbray
  • Kier
  • Mace
  • McCarthy Stone
  • Multiplex
  • Novus Property Solutions
  • Osborne
  • Sir Robert McAlpine
  • Sisk
  • Skanska
  • Tilbury Douglas
  • VINCI Construction UK
  • VolkerWessels UK
  • Wates

How do you complete the Common Assessment Standard?

Contractors and businesses of all sizes can take the Common Assessment Standard and it works like many other accreditation schemes carried out by a recognised assessment body. The assessment can be carried out online and certification is awarded after all requirements are met. Businesses that achieve the Common Assessment Standard are then certified once a year.